Sheriff's Merit Commission

The Authority of the Moultrie County Merit Commission is enacted pursuant to the Illinois Compiled Statutes 55ILCS 5/3-8001. "Sheriff's Merit System Law". The Merit Commission shall have the duties shall have the duties. Pursuant to recognized merit principles of public employment, of certification for employment and promotion, and, upon complaint of the Sheriff or States Attorney as limited in this Division to discipline or discharge as the circumstances may warrant. All full time Deputy Sheriff's are under the jurisdiction of the Merit Commission.

The following individuals are members of Of the Moultrie County Merit Commission:

Chairman Mike Mossman
Term Expires 12-01-2016

Secretary Dave Bowers
Term Expires 12-01-2014

Board Member Jim Wheeler
Term Expires 12-01-2012

For additional information about the Moultrie County Sheriff's Office go to: or